Not a Swift Smart Move!

Right! A rant…

This week we saw the news that Microsoft had gone and bought Swiftkey, in my view the best keyboard for Android. I have been using Swiftkey for a while, beginning in the old days when they charged you. As in I paid them literately a week before they when free. When it was first announced I got the new snazy version,neural with the IA which had a lot promise but no updates were forth coming.

Then last week they go and sell out to the Microsoft scum! I am not at all happy about this due to my total mistrust of the Micro$oft lot. I am hoping that Swiftkey can continue moving forward as they have been but I will no longer be seeing what they get up to.

WHY?

I have decided that I will take a stand and not use this keyboard for a number of reasons. The first is obvious if you have read previous posts. I simply don’t trust Microsoft, from the side lines I have been watching what they get up to and I really don’t like it. I fear that my personnal data will be up loaded via the keyboard, remember, what you type in goes up the line to Swiftkeys servers to make the typing better which is does but with the larger company involved I don’t feel at all happy. I am also concerned that Swiftkey itself will be badly affected as it gets added to Microsoft products (which is why they bought it) and the end result may well not be pretty (look at skype, nokia, etc). I strongly believe that that this is a very bad idea.

So SwiftKey, best off luck with your new overlords because I and many others won’t be there to help you!

Oh! by the way…I want my money back!

Forcehawk

Leave a Reply

