Keepass The Manager

For a while I have been thinking more and more of getting a password manager, should have done this a while ago but time and dragging my feet delayed the inevitable. Lastpass was the one that got alot of mentions in articles so it was more well known but that got sold this year and my understanding was that it was propriety and stored my passwords on their servers (I may be wrong but I am sure they got hacked in the past year for this info). Anyway, I chose KeePass2 which is open source. I thought it would be simple enough to just install from the repositories but no. It will not run properly with Firefox. My idea was to store the database which is encrypted on a USB drive which seems to work OK with the current set up. The idea behind this was because I did not want to keep the database on the laptop in case of mishaps and for security.

I spent a little time researching the KeePass web site and seemed to get most of the way setting it up but I was not happy with the way it was not functioning how I thought it should. A search produced a number of pages for installing on ubuntu (I am using Kubuntu so its basically the same). In the end I used the  instructions here-

https://www.maketecheasier.com/integrate-keepass-with-browser-in-ubuntu/

However, this site seems a little dated but works very well. I think it would be best to follow the instructions about installing the packages via the terminal and forget the software centre in ubuntu/kubuntu, and yes you need mono for it to work proberly.

In stage 3 on the page that is linked to, there is a mistake in the line –

sudo mv ~/keepasshttp/KeePassHttp.plgx /usr/lib/keepass2/plugins/

It should actually read

sudo mv ~/keepasshttp-master/KeePassHttp.plgx /usr/lib/keepass2/plugins/

I may have mentioned in a previous post about cutting and pasting stuff that I have found not to work due to out of date elements within the terminal stuff. Check! Check the file names as the lines your pasting may be out of date with titles or number versions.

The other step that needs mentioning is that you will need something called xdotool. I found this in Synaptic Package manager so you will need to install that manager first and then install xdotool. Synaptic is very usful and I really wish it was included with kubuntu to start with!

The rest of the instructions work fine, even when using the USB drive to store the database but this may need linking to during the set up process when you restart Firefox to set up the syncing of the database with the web browser.

Most of the information in its use can be found in the KeePass wiki if you have any problems which seems pretty compressive and detailed in most parts with the Linux instructions having to be done in way that more or less covers most of the Linux distros. At the moment the problems that I am encountering are greatly reduced to what I had so unless I need new elements in the set up it should be OK.

Any changes to due any clichés in the set-up that need fixing will be added here or above to keep everything complete for reference and avoiding head scratching.

And no, I am not spending the rest of the day adding all my passwords, etc. I will do that as I need to.

Forcehawk

 

Leave a Reply

