Android L arrives on Nexus 7 (2012)

About a month ago saw the arrival over the air of Android Lollipop to my Nexus 7, I have heard alot of good and bad stuff about this, particularly for my device but due to the recent trouble I have had with it, I did the up date anyway. At first the tablet was slow, really slow but I presume that this was due to the new system doing stuff. Now a few weeks later it seems to have a new lease off life. The only trouble seems to be a slowness of loading stuff offer the internet. The only other problem is the gmail app, I have written about this before but I really hate the way that it includes other email accounts on your device and doesn’t allow for different accounts to remain separate from this terrible app. The user in this case MUST be given the option to include other accounts or not. I have since removed all other accounts of the tablet and disabledĀ  the gmail app to makes sure. I have tried internet searches to find the solution but all I get is mostly stuff saying how good it is. In its place is Inbox which is much better although the non ability to swipe to delete is a minus. I also don’t like the idea of having multiple accounts on one device as I am a great believer in one device for one person and not shared.

Notifications on the lock screen isn’t a problem as the device is used at home and actually makes it easier with a double press on the screen to get to what I want. The unlocking is also better. Now it appears there is a few new things it can do and over the next week or so I will have finds them. I also need to add a few more other features to get more use out of this device other than controlling chromecast, etc.The way that in use or recently used apps is also much better and its actually easier to remove or close them. I only found this after I had trouble with WordPress and Firefox not loading, starting or running correctly which resulted with a constant attack of ‘this app is not responding messages’.

The look of Lollipop though is somewhat lacking and not to my liking, actually, I think it was done by a 2 year old child who doesn’t have much imagination! Overall, I am starting to really like this update but the email situation really needs to be attended to.

Forcehawk

Leave a Reply

