The Search for a Better Linux Music Player Continues

For a long time I have searched for and tried a large number of music players for Linux. I have tried most of them, Kaffine, Nightingale, Amorak amongst others. There are a number of players aimed at the Gnome and similar desktops based on it but I stopped using when I returned to my preferred KDE (I really didn’t think much of them anyway).

I haven’t used Kaffine for a long time, I felt when I first tried it that it was more any media centric and didn’t like it at all. Songbird was great until they stopped developing it so I moved over to Nightingale which I have written about in the past. When it first appeared it was great and showed so mush promise but as things continued more and more things seemed to not work or fail. This is a real shame because I really liked it but alas we parted ways and it all seems to have gone quiet, nothing on twitter or google plus.

While I have been back with KDE I found so-lance in Amorak which has been working great but seemed bland and un-customisable. About a week ago I realised that no updates had come through for it and when I checked the website I found I was indeed correct, I read that nothing had appeared for close to a year has they claimed that a large bug was causing problems which they were trying to fix and would enabl them to release an update which would give features found in Amorak 1+. Several of these I have missed greatly such as changing appearance.

It was at this point that I remembered Clementine, for some reason I had ignored it. Based on Amorak 1+ it appears to have been updated somewhat and so I am impressed and has become my now default player on my laptop. However, I can think of a couple of things that I would add or change if given half the chance. The first would do away with the files listed on the side and a panel along the top showing albums covers that when clicked on will start the album playing, this would also be good on touch screens as well (probably better). The reason I like this idea is because I recognise an album by its cover better than its title in a lot of cases and so find it easier to find what I want to listen to. The internet options is well done but need checking particularly Last Fm. It may be better to be able to select which internet sources the user wants be be visible for use as most of the ones showed are of no interest to me. I will be watching to see how this and other music players develop!

Forcehawk

Leave a Reply

