Time to Revise Passwords

Last month I posted what I could find out about the heartbleed problem, more of an excuse to find out about it for myself. At the time planned to write this but I got a little side tracked.
The result of the situation and something I said about was that there was the need to change passwords, so I took the opportunity to change them, even on sites not affected and really didn’t need to. I am still finding sites that I haven’t visited in sometime and I am taking the time to change those pass words simply because I think I need to. As the IT department at work remind us, passwords really need to be changed every now then ( not never but once in every few months). The way you choose your password is up to you but I tend to throw some of these 153 in and some of these efrTIJ in and also some of these {$< for good measure. I still cann’t believe people still use 12345 or password. I know there are pass word generators, etc but I really don’t think that its a good idea to store passwords on the pieces of software on the computer or any where else digitally for that matter.
While I was doing all this I found that websites were increasingly using two stage logins. Yes, I know its a pain but I can see the added security advantages off this so I strongly suggest that you use them. While your setting this second stage up it is worth setting exemptions up such as with google accounts as some apps or software such as thunderbird doesn’t allow for two stage logins. However, for two stage login you need your phone for a code to be texted to you. This is were there is one major problem with the idea, signal. If you are in an area with no or unreliable signal you may not get the code to complete the process. Some sites use captures as well, these can be even more of pain and I would like to see them gone if possible. I can see the advantages of these though in that they help weed out machines hunting to get into accounts but often I find that I find the letters to type unreadable!

Forcehawk

Leave a Reply

