Pebble Progress

I’ve been using my Pebble for a couple of weeks now and what a difference. First I had to get used to wearing a watch again, which I still don’t all the time such as when I am at home. One of the first questions that came to mind was: How much of a drain on phone power is it? In my experience very little, in fact the battery seems to be lasting longer during the day because I’m not checking the phone for the time or checking messages. The battery on the watch last roughly 4 to 5 days depending on use.

The support for the watch, as in instructions seems some what basic if at all available and use of the watch relies on the user finding out what the buttons do on their own. The website seems more for selling but a lot of information can be found in the forums and help pages. The apps pages seem somewhat bare but this is understandable seeing as though many are just starting out. I’ve tried 3 or 4 apps and 2 have already been uninstalled due to a user unfriendly attitude! I haven’t had much of a chance to check many of the available apps out but over the next few weeks I will.

Only one app has past the one week test, Notifier. Seems a lot better that the notification alerts that came with the watch and has meant that I don’t need to look at the phone all the time because it displays all or most of the messages or alerts from apps which matter such as email, twitter (Talon in my case) and SMS. I haven’t really had much time to play around with it but it does come with some form of instruction…which buttons do what. Within the app check out Help and it show a picture of the watch and the buttons are labeled. I have just discovered reqallable which is going to be tested over the next week or two. But thats for another time.

Even though I’ve had the watch for a short time I can see great potential for it, depending on what apps are used. Yes, compared to the next generation of smart watches its basic but the Pebble is all I really need.  Currently I really don’t see the point of having loads of functions such as calling on a watch. Really, I don’t want to look like an idiot talking to my wrist, nearly as bad as using a tablet to take pictures out side!

 

Forcehawk

Leave a Reply

