Joined the Revolution!

There seems to be a revolution taking place and it involves wearable tech. Some may see it has a fashion thing, others maybe don’t know what to think but to others it means other things. I see it in practical terms along the lines off ‘it maybe useful’. Hence my purchase and the arrival today of a nice shiny Pebble smart watch. Now these I can see as being a practical thing. Google glass type things are, well… make your own mind up but I don’t think that much off them.

Anyway, back to the Pebble. I ordered mine through Amazon just for the ease of it, and I didn’t want to wait ages for it to come from the States and be hammered by customs on the tax. To say I’m pleased is an understatement! It arrived within the time stated (2 days). I have been thinking for a while that it would be nice to have a watch again, I’ve really had enough of getting my phone out just to see the time! however, I do have a couple of concerns. The first one is the screen, just how scratch resistant is it. With my day job screen can get well and truly scratched so I need to check this.

Why the Pebble and not a different smart watch? Simply because others are either too expensive (and unpractical due to only being compatible with only one make of phone) or just look cruddy.

Once the box was opened I had the thing set up pretty quickly (roughly 5- 10 minutes). It was pretty easy, just installed the app on to my phone, update the watch, etc. The set up is easy to follow and now I just need to play around with it to get the most out of it. It does work really nicely with my Huawei Ascend P6.

Give a couple of weeks so that I can get used to it and then I will take things further just to get the most out of it.

Forcehawk

Leave a Reply

