Linux at Work Use

I have recently been spending alot of time in the office writing reports and learning CAD. After a day or so of report writing I remembered that the head of IT had said it was OK to dual book with linux. So I filled in a problem ticket and clicked reply, I was quickly given the OK. At the first chance I had Linux Mint KDE was installed on the machine BUT, I had to have dual boot. Not just because others use the machine but due to the fact I needed two pieces of software, leica desktop and AutoCAD. Both have no linux alternatives and I really don’t have the time to try and get these working on my favourite desktop.
Come Friday and the dragon from HR comes in with someone from the building department and takes one of the hot desks. Yes, it has a computer but they wanted mine, I was so annoyed you wouldn’t beleive, actually she upset alot of people within Geomatics. Straight away IT head explained to her that linux was on there as dual boot, she asked why and was told that it made the machine faster but the new person can have XP (for Christ sake, are people still using that junk?). He told her that a few people use linux and that they encourage it. NICE one Paul ! So this week, I have to go through another install because Buildings and the dragon don’t care what others think. I had a computer set up with the required power for survey software and a decent desktop environment for report writing and now everyones time is going to be wasted.

So, maybe it might be worth speaking with IT, you never know, Linux may be encouraged within your work place and simply asking you may get the go ahead to get a decent, productive system installed. May be worth stating that it will remain dual boot though.

Update- For some reason the computer in question was never changed and I didn’t have to do a reinstall. Which means that it will be worth my while adding the ability to print and network access so that I don’t have to use the remote desktop.

Forcehawk

Leave a Reply

