Focal, My App for the Week (Nearly)!

I’ve been using the camera app Focal for a few weeks now and I much prefer it to the stock one, Its a me thing, I just cann’t bring myself to use most stock apps, I just have download a different one. This app comes from a French developer who originally did it for Cyanogenmod but due to differences in opinion when it came to licensing with drew it and made it available separately. Apparently its still only in Beta but it works so well on my phone that it doesn’t appear to have any problems. Well, there is, and that is why it wasn’t nearly app of the week (or so). The problem lies in the location of where the pictures are stored. Which is on the internal memory of the phone with no means to change that setting to allow the user to change the photos being stored on the SDcard which is a pain!

To access the pictures just by plugging the phone into the computer and being able to get to the file easily is not possible (this is the only change I would like to see made). The reason for this is due to the laptop only seeing the SDcard which acts like external storage enabling the computer to see it. The internal memory of the phone doesn’t (a similar reason why Nexus 7 memory isn’t picked up).
The way round this problem is to use an app that I have written about before, AirDroid. I used this to solve access problems with the Nexus 7 and I have found that it allows me to have full access to the memoery on my phone including the internal bit. So I am able to access the folder with the photographs taken with Focal, select the ones that I want and press download (not upload). Because the whole thing is done through the Airdroid website you get a zip folder download just as you do from a website but it appears that the process involves uploading the files to the website where the zip file is made and then downloaded to your computer where you unzip it and sort the pictures from there. Now that is why its a pain. Why cann’t the pictures go straight to the SDcard so that I can download straight from there via a cable connection between laptop and phone?

Forcehawk

Leave a Reply

