Time to Start a Fresh….

Or, I need a new phone so how and what did I choose?

You may have gathered that I have recently had a lot of trouble with my old phone. And the rushed release of the last post was due to the purchase of a phone a few days ago making the post some what out of date due to one or two comments but I released it as I felt one or two things needed to be said.

I originally intended to buy a Nexus 5 when it came out, I was also looking at the Samsung phones but thought I needed to do some research first. In the end I went into a shop with an open mind for several reasons. The main being that the phones that I was thinking about may not be what I want and also the price. I feel that alot of phones are merely fashion statements such as the S4 and iPhones and seeing as though I hate Apple with a passion, samsaung were considered but the price was to high. I also learn’t that they both break easily, especially the screen.

I went with an idea of what I wanted, Android (with updates), a decent sized screen, a basic set of apps and no features I don’t need (straight away counting out the S4 with all its fancy stuff, nice phone though). I spent some time talking to the shop person and we went over the various phones in the place… all high end ones which I suspect because they were popular (read fashionable). He then mentioned another make/model, Huawei Ascend P6. It has An Android 4.2.2 which isn’t bad and seems pretty close to pure android although they have added their own stuff. The number of apps seems pretty basic with very little crap like Facebook! which is good because I would have taken it off.

This phone doesn’t have a HD screen, but whats the point? I’m not going to watch films, etc because little screens don’t do justice to films and TV I think it a waste of time. What I did want was a phone for the obvious calls and texts, plus music including podcasts, reading,  browsing and anything else I find I can use it for. The phone it self came with 8GB but much less available to the user and 2 GB RAM, but it does have a micro SD slot which many of the expensive ones didn’t. There seems to be a push towards the cloud, I think this is wrong big time, not just security reasons but data signal is not reliable to warrant being reliant on cloud storage, its also expensive. The phone is not 4G capable but seeing as though 4G is restricted to a few major cities and not in my area then I really don’t care for it. The camera didn’t seem that bad either, much better than on the old phone.

I decided to buy this phone while I was there, although I had originally intended to buy at the end of the month but my Wildfire had become more or less unusable and I needed a phone. Why did I buy and not get an upgrade? I’m not entitled to one for another year BUT, I think people should have buy they’re phones instead of being tied to one one that comes with a contract that doesn’t suit them. I have found, that the contract allowances suit but the phone doesn’t because its either got to many features or its to small. It would be better to buy a phone then get a contract that suits the person which would be far better. Another big plus of this phone being bought independent of the carrier is that it is unlocked, meaning that if I go abroad I can put a local or international SIM in to the phone for cheaper calls.

So far I am very happy with this device to the point I currently have no need to root it but may do in the future to add a custom ROM or simply to add or change things to suit me. I have been slowly getting it set up with apps, etc as I need them and have found one or two that are better than what I was using before.

Forcehawk

Leave a Reply

