Connecting Android to Linux Revisited

Recently I wanted to upload some files to my Nexus 7 but found the previously offered solution to connect the device was a one way thing. By this, I mean I can access and download files but not the other way round. This meant a new solution had to be found. A quick bit of searching and I found Airdroid. I gave this app a trial run and so far I am very happy with it, so much so that I will likely not be using the old app.
Airdroid is simple to use but requires an account which is free although for added extras (which I don’t think I need at this point) there is a subscription which doesn’t seem to be that much although looking at the forums there is problems with one or two of these features. These may be fixed soon.

The installed of the app was easy as usual and I first tried it on the Nexus 7 and it worked a treat but the features of the app suit phones! I have now installed it on my Wildfire (to be replaced in the next month or so). Once you are logged into the app on the phone you are given two options, I go for the web site where you log and have access to your device and are faced with the following screen.

airdroid

It must be pointed out that only one device can be logged with the account. I found that when I logged in with the wildfire that the Nexus 7 was logged off the account. This means that only one device can be associated with the account. The reason for this is that some of the apps features within the account are geared for use with one device for example find device. If there are more devices registered then problems will arise. Its no problem to change the device so one account will accept what ever machines you want to access at the time although I recommend keeping the phone and not your tablet registered to the account, simply because the service seems more geared towards phones (eg, find device,etc).

 

Edit- This also works for the Huawei Ascend P6

Forcehawk

Leave a Reply

