How to connect Nexus 7 to Fedora

A few months ago I bought myself a 16GB Nexus 7 tablet, for a while I got on alright with it but soon found I wanted to transfer files both to it and from it. When I connected it to my computer nothing came up to show that it had connected in the same way as my phone and or devices when I connected them.

As is usual with a problem I did a google search, the first few solutions that came up were on various bulletin boards, mostly fedora.org. These mostly offered the same kind of advice which involved scripting, changing permissions and other similar stuff. I thought it would be simple. I slipped the problem to one side while I worked a way from home. Hence a return a couple of weeks ago and the release of the new emusic launcher (see previous post). I was able to download some music via the emusic app but wanted to move the music to my computer which meant that I had to find a solution.

The reason why that a simple connection could not be done as before with my Android phone was found after some Googling to find a solution. As with many devices, the Nexus 7 does not have a SD card so does not come up as a external storage. This means that even with MTP stuff installed, it is not possible to use it as such a linux machines. However, it must be pointed out that it does appear in Amarok but is read only.

Some investigating later……solution found and pretty simple..

One the Nexus install a Ftp server app, there are many free ones.

When you start the app, you will get the following:

Press button to stop ftp server

Ftp server available on

ftp://***.***.*.**:****

Username:francis

Password: francis

Annoynmous user enabled

Homedirectory: /storage/emulated/o

Now open a browser (firefox) and type the address into the address bar. Press enter. The files on the tablet should then appear in the browser window which effectively turns the browser into a file browser like dolphin.

Forcehawk

Leave a Reply

